Ultimate Guide about Australian University Types - Landmark

Disclaimer:- The application approval for Study Permit, Post Graduation Work Permit, Permanent Residence or any kind of visa is sole discretion of Immigration Refugees and Citizenship of Canada as per their rules and regulations. Also, for other countries, final visa approval and refusal depends upon the high commission of each country.

httpslandmarkimmigration.com 25

Ultimate Guide about Australian University Types

Ultimate Guide about Australian University Types

28 July 2022
Ultimate Guide about Australian University Types
28 July 2022

The most sought-after place for international students to study abroad in Australia. Students come here from all parts of the world to enrich themselves with the wonderful system of education, interact with diverse cultures, and have a good lifestyle as well as good job opportunities after completing their studies.

Australia is renowned for some of its universities which rank among the best universities all over the world. Eight universities in Australia occupy a place among the hundred global highly ranked universities in the world. Below are discussed the types of Australian universities.

The universities from 1960 – 1970

The requirement for seeking higher education was growing at a fast pace. As a result, several universities were established by the Australian state governments from the middle of 1960 to the 1970’s to meet this ever-increasing demand. These universities aimed at redefining the existing pattern of education and creating a pattern which was different from the pattern followed by the traditional universities.

Below are the universities which were established during this period:

  • La Trobe University
  • Griffith University
  • James Cook University
  • Murdoch University
  • Macquarie University
  • Flinders University
  • The University of Newcastle
  • Deakin University
  • The University of Wollongong

ATN- Australian Technology Network

The Australian Technology Network was formed in 1999. It comprises five universities in Australia that primarily focus on making substantial improvements in society as well as the economy by giving technology solutions which are impactful. These universities are the most enterprising and innovative. The ATN was established by the Directors of Central institutes of Technology (DOCIT) in 1975 and dissolved in 1982.

The universities which are its members are accomplished in the area of study involving technology. These universities are:

  • The University of Technology Sydney
  • University of South Australia
  • Curtin University
  • RMIT University
  • Deakin University

Go8- Group of Eight:

Group of Eight was established in 1999 and is the oldest and largest institution providing education in Australia. It is a group of eight best universities in Australia renowned all across the world for providing education and research opportunities. They are acclaimed for their high rankings and preferred by students throughout the world.

The universities which are its members are:

  • Australian National University
  • The University of Queensland
  • The University of New South Wales Sydney
  • The University of Adelaide
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Sydney
  • Monash University
  • The University of Western Australia

RUN- Regional Universities Network

The Regional Universities Network (RUN) is based in regional Australia and comprises a group of seven universities. It was formed in 2011. RUN aims to make a significant contribution to the development of regional communities and economies. The prime focus of these universities is to ensure everyone has an access to higher education and also to bring out professionals who are well qualified for regional development.

The universities which are its members are:

  • Charles Sturt University
  • University of New England
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • CQ University Australia
  • Southern Cross University
  • Federation University
  • University of the Sunshine Coast (USC)

New Generation Universities

For introducing those students who had graduated from higher secondary school to the educational institutions of the new kind the Australian Government established colleges of advanced education. The difference between the sectors of university and the non-university was dissolved in 1988. These universities were formed as a network of a lobby group in 2002 but it did not last for many years.

The member universities of this group were:

  • Bond University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Victoria University
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Canberra University
  • The University of Notre Dame
  • Western Sydney University

There are many different types of universities in Australia which were established with the main purpose of imparting quality education to students from all parts of the world and preparing them for a bright, successful and secure future as well as able to face all kinds of challenges at work. The universities discussed above will help you in choosing the university/program which is most appropriate for your educational requirements.

For further assistance and queries, you can contact Landmark Immigration where our experienced team will help you avail the wide range of services related to immigration and education.

Published by


Landmark Immigration and Consultancy evolved with the vision to empower the aspiring youth of India to position themselves successfully in the global landscape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Landmark immigration Consultants Private Limited. evolved with the vision to empower the aspiring youth of India to position themselves successfully in the global landscape.

Our Locations


F -212-213, Phase 8 B, Industrial Area, Mohali, India

+ 91- 172-4653644 , +91 8288821176


Sco 95, 96 and 97, Second floor, Sec 17 d, Chandigarh, 160017

+91-01725006644 , +91 7087037783


Make an Appointment